8035 Miles to Go…

First you have the introduction, now I give some of the requirements of what going on Hajj is all about.  Islam isn’t just about what you do, it is about why you are doing something and how you go about getting it accomplished.

When looking for items on the web about Islam and Hajj, I was dismayed by how much misinformation I came across.    It is as bad as in the middle ages when Christians were passing rumors about Jews kidnapping and killing babies as part of their religion.  IT DIDN’T HAPPEN! Please, if you are NOT a Muslim, (and even if you ARE) Do NOT Tell Me What My Religion Says if you haven’t even bothered to read the ENTIRE Quran and read more than a couple of Hadith.

I don’t claim to have memorized the Quran, but at least I know enough to go back and LOOK at what it says instead of having someone on the Internet provide me with made up vitriol that supports some bigoted message of hate.

But there is also good on the Internet and I found this:

The ibaadah of Hajj has the exclusive status of being fardh only once a lifetime, for those who can afford it. It is therefore important that the sincerity of intention must be given due regard. In other Ibaadaat and devotions it is possible to gradually develop Ikhlaas, whereas the time available for Hajj is usually limited. The need for Ikhlaas is vital because a Fardh Hajj can never be repeated.
During your journey to Hajj a concerted effort towards developing this all important sincerity must be made.

The person who intends to perform Hajj must do so with the express niyyah of attaining Allah‘s pleasure, and to fulfil one’s fardh, and also to diligently carry out the commands of Allah and His Rasool sallallahu alayhi wasallam. The rewards for deeds depend greatly on the niyyah that is formed. Sincerity is extremely important.
It is important that Hajj should be kept free of ulterior and worldly motives. Joining worldly objectives with religious aims is like adding water to milk.
There are three types of adulteration which are possible in the performance of Hajj ;

  1. To ruin the

Hajj even before departing from home by having a desire to be called a Haajjee, and using haraam or doubtful earnings for this ibaadah.

  1. To engage in

improper acts while performing Hajj e.g. to commit sins during the time that one is engaged in the performance of Hajj , to have arguments, not to make Taubah (repentance).

  1. To complete the

Hajj and then to indulge in such deeds that defile the Hajj , e.g. to neglect the fardh salaat, to indulge in sin etc.

Perform the Hajj with all its Aadaab and requisites, for anything done in keeping with this is well accomplished.
While in Hajj do not do things to display to others. Do not announce your Hajj to all and sundry. (To avoid Riyaa which is to show off and act to gain fame).

On returning from Hajj do not emphasize the difficulties which may have been endured, instead turn your attention towards the eternal benefits and rewards you will receive. One must understand that the difficulties endured during this sacred journey are insignificant compared to the high position one will receive in jannah.

When departing from home, the only intention in the heart should be the search for Allah‘s Pleasure. All other evil intentions; as for example to show people or to wish to be called Haajjee or the intention of having an enjoyable tour, should be completely removed from the mind.

So now you see, I have a big job ahead of me.  I am in search of Allah’s Pleasure and not of my own.  I have a long journey.    I am setting up a website that I will try to arrange so that other people can post their own destinations and miles accomplished.

I am going to go walk my first mile right now but probably won’t post it until tomorrow night because I have to take a trip to Goldfield, Nevada.  InshaAllah, (God Willing) I will be back.   Meanwhile, I will have a lot of thinking to do.

 

 

About walkingtomecca

I am responsible for MY opinions and MY choices. If you think I am wrong, respond to my blog in an intelligent way and I might get back to you. Or viciously attack your stupidity. It is a toss up. I spend the little time that I have to write on this blog, but I would rather be looking at stamps, enjoying the world, but not wasting my time on people telling me how wrong I am. Thank you, I have children to do that to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

