Assalamu Alaikoum World! Lets start Walking to Mecca!

Assalamu Alaikoum

This is an Experience by someone who does not know much about blogging or technology in general.  It is the beginning of a Journey and one that I hope will be joined by many others heading in the same direction.  In Islam, each new undertaking starts the same way… We say Bismillah, or in English, “In the Name of God.”

It is my Niyyah, (Intention)  to walk to Mecca.

OK, so I know that it would be almost impossible for me to literally walk from somewhere near the west coast of the United States all the way to Mecca, but isn’t walking to Mecca what millions of Muslims have been doing for centuries?  I plan on walking on a walking machine, or around the block, around a local lake, or even riding a bike.  I am going to go one mile at a time and sometimes more.  I am going to share MY thoughts and MY opinions and MY understanding of Islam.  And maybe we can get some insights together and figure out the meanings of some of the things that we don’t understand.

Walking to Mecca, going on Hajj, is a spiritual journey, not just a physical one.   I plan on using my time learning about Islam and thinking about it and trying to explain it to others.  According to the Quran and Hadith, there is no compulsion in religion and I am not out to convert anybody.  But I do want a forum to address some of the stupidity that assaults the airways about Islam and what it is and what it is trying to do.  I am going to try and do that while I am walking to Mecca.

I went to a Distance Calculator and found out that from where I live to Mecca is about 8035 miles.  I figure that walking that far is going to take me awhile and since I weigh about a hundred and plenty it might be good for me in more ways than one.

The distance calculator I used was the City Distance Tool and my personal journey can be found via the following link:

http://www.geobytes.com/CityDistanceTool.htm?d&pt_1=usnvspar&pt_2=samkmecc

I added 5 miles to the total because of possible problems of additional distance from where I live from the websites “center” of my city to the extra distance to the actual Kabbah in Mecca, my final destination for my walk.

Please understand that I am responsible for My own actions and choices.  You are responsible for YOURS.    Islam and Culture are two VERY DIFFERENT things and Osama Bin Ladin arranged for the MURDER of a great many innocent people.  Muslims are not Terrorists, TERRORISTS ARE TERRORISTS.   And GOD is GOD regardless if you address the Supreme Being as God, Allah, Dios, Gut, or in any other language.  If you are atheist, don’t bother.  It doesn’t matter to you anyway and if you are right, who cares?  At least we won’t have to listen to you throughout eternity…

About walkingtomecca

I am responsible for MY opinions and MY choices. If you think I am wrong, respond to my blog in an intelligent way and I might get back to you. Or viciously attack your stupidity. It is a toss up. I spend the little time that I have to write on this blog, but I would rather be looking at stamps, enjoying the world, but not wasting my time on people telling me how wrong I am. Thank you, I have children to do that to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

