Burqa vs. the TSA, Rumor Mill Central, 8027 Miles to Mecca

I get tired of some of the news that is going on with regards to the TSA and pat downs.  I’ve got news for you, as a card-carrying philatelist who wears hijab, I have been searched, patted and groped for YEARS by the TSA and their pre 9-11 cohorts.

So on Saturday, I am at the Stamp Club, (which meets in the Mosque by the way) and one of the members asks me if I know anything about the new scanning and TSA pat downs.  I said “OF COURSE I DO!”  I then told her that no matter how good it felt after all of their touchy feeling, you are not allowed to give them tips…

But seriously folks, she really was worried about the scanners and about the invasive process that she had been hearing about on tv and the computer.  She then told me that she had “heard” a rumor that women in Burqas didn’t have to go through the screening.

Even though I don’t wear a burqa, I knew the answer to THAT one!

“You are right, they don’t go through the same screening, they get a rectal exam instead!”

I like the way they snap those gloves...

Am I being crude? Do I exagerate? Well a little.  But Muslim Women who wear loose fitting, modest clothing, with scarf or burqa get profiled for practicing their religion and there is nothing “Random” about it.

I suppose I should apologize for my bluntness… but I won’t.  Rush Limbaugh has it right when he says illustrate the absurd with absurdity.   I admit, sometimes I am too exuberant, and sometimes I make direct, outright statements that lack tact.  I have even been known to utter an occasional BS or pretend to be putting on tall boots.  But Islam teaches that “if you see something wrong, you should change it by your hand.  If you cannot change it by your hand, change it with your voice (speak out against it), and if you cannot change it with your voice, oppose it in your heart, and that is the least of the three.”

This blog is me speaking out and also trying to change injustice and ignorance by my hand.  I give up my precious time to go and speak about the anti-Muslima behavior that occurs both here and abroad.  I have been on Boards and Committees and Panels and I have tried to educate Muslims and Non-Muslims about Islam. I have tried to set a good example in a world that publicizes scandal and evil.

And now, here I am trying to become a better Muslim by walking to Mecca, one mile at a time.  While walking, I am reading hadith and other books so that I can truly know how to stay on the straight path.   I’ve been a Muslim for many years now, and I still have so much to learn.

The neck under the scarf I wear might be considered red.  And I still recite the pledge of allegiance, including the words “One nation, Under GOD.”  Now how does that work?  Because I am not Christian, the Constitution doesn’t apply?

It is clear that Islam makes sense, and many people don’t.

About walkingtomecca

I am responsible for MY opinions and MY choices. If you think I am wrong, respond to my blog in an intelligent way and I might get back to you. Or viciously attack your stupidity. It is a toss up. I spend the little time that I have to write on this blog, but I would rather be looking at stamps, enjoying the world, but not wasting my time on people telling me how wrong I am. Thank you, I have children to do that to me.
This entry was posted in Islam, Mosque, TSA and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

