Giving Children the Power of Islam by Aminah Assilmi

8026 miles to go to while walking to Mecca

I think about a lot of things when I am walking.  Fortunately I am one of those people who can usually walk AND chew bubblegum at the same time.  I wouldn’t try to walk, chew bubblegum AND read at the same time though, so instead I just walk and read.  This blog is about one of the books I read on my spiritual and physical journey.

As I said before, it takes me over 20 minutes to walk a mile towards Mecca and this time I was reading one of those self published little booklets that some Muslim speakers produce.  You know the ones – copied and stapled because most mainstream publishers won’t bother with them.  This one took me about 22 minutes because I had to reread and savor some of the parts.

I wish I had read this one YEARS before I finally did because even though I had been doing a lot of what was suggested, there was so much more I could have done for my Islam and for my kids.

The booklet I am referring to is Aminah Assilmi’s “Giving Children the Power of Islam.” Published in 2000, (yes, before 9-11) it is only 34 booklet pages long, but FULL of tips and common sense about parenting.  It is excellent in showing specific verses from the Quran and Hadith to back up the information given, and it is an easy read.

Aminah Assilmi died in March of this year and these are the kinds of books that she would sell at her lectures in order to help pay her own expenses.  Yes, most places would pay her travel and hotel, but only a few would give her an honorarium.  But she was doing it FisbillAllah and used the sales of her booklets to pay the rent.  And No, she never got royalties on any of the books or material you see on the internet.  She would sometimes get copies that she could sell at her lectures but if she saw someone who needed one, and didn’t have any money, it became a gift.

“If you would protect your children, increase your knowledge and improve your implementation of that knowledge.  Protection comes from knowledge, for knowledge of Allah (SWT) will make you aware of His Love.  Awareness of His love will make you confident that there is no better guidance than what He has provided.  You will see this wisdom in all His advice.  The child who knows Allah’s love is truly blessed for he will always be eager to please Him and follow His guidance.  Love of Allah (SWT) and knowledge of Allah’s love is the greatest gift we can give our children.” Aminah Assilmi, from her book “Giving Children the Power of Islam”.

Some of her topics were:

  • Prayer begins at Birth
  • Ramadhan is NOT our Christmas
  • Charity and Zakat are for Children too!

She also included this ayat from the Quran that I have a personal connection to for the next over 8000 miles…

“and proclaim the Pilgrimage among men: they will come to thee on foot and (mounted) on every kind of camel, lean on account of journeys through deep and distant lands.  That they may witness the benefits (provided) for them and celebrate the name of Allah (SWT) through the Days…”           (22:27-28)

She was a great sister and I will try to share more.

 

About walkingtomecca

I am responsible for MY opinions and MY choices. If you think I am wrong, respond to my blog in an intelligent way and I might get back to you. Or viciously attack your stupidity. It is a toss up. I spend the little time that I have to write on this blog, but I would rather be looking at stamps, enjoying the world, but not wasting my time on people telling me how wrong I am. Thank you, I have children to do that to me.
This entry was posted in Islam and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

