8023 Miles and 30 years left until I get to Mecca

I guess I should feel intimidated by my audacious plan to walk to Mecca.  It has been over two weeks since I have started my journey, I have driven over a thousand miles in my car, and have only gone 12 miles on foot.   What does that say about our society?

I HAVE lost what looks like a “permanent” pound of weight, and I find that I am being more focused on my Islam.  Since I am using my walking to Mecca time to think about religion and to read books, articles and other relevent material, I think that it is an overall good idea.

Except that at the rate I am going we are talking about DECADES!  Unless I pick up the pace it will be over 30 years before I reach my goal.

If I get up to one mile a day it will be another 8023 days.   8023 divided by 365.25 (don’t forget leap years) is 21 years and 253 days.

Of course each mile I travel burns up about 100 calories according to the computer on my walking machine so if I use the elevation setting on the treadmill, I can bump those calorie numbers up and get rid of 1,000,000 calories worth of fat.

And if I start memorizing the Quran, I might have that done at the same time.

Now that is Incentive!

The longest journey starts with one step…

About walkingtomecca

I am responsible for MY opinions and MY choices. If you think I am wrong, respond to my blog in an intelligent way and I might get back to you. Or viciously attack your stupidity. It is a toss up. I spend the little time that I have to write on this blog, but I would rather be looking at stamps, enjoying the world, but not wasting my time on people telling me how wrong I am. Thank you, I have children to do that to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment