Adventures in Interneterland: Islam as Seen Through the Looking Glass of Computer Screens Part 1

There is an old saying:  “Just because you are paranoid, doesn’t mean that they aren’t out to get you.”

Boy talk about chasing a talking rabbit down a hole! Only “I’m Late! I’m Late!”  I think I should have started my walk to Mecca a long time ago so that maybe I could have educated some of the silliness out of otherwise right thinking Americans.  But I still have 8022 miles to work on it…

As you know, in my blog, I have been addressing some of the “news of the day” type of material that pops up on the internet and I feel like I have become Alice in Wonderland.  Things are getting very strange…

I have been addressing the issue of the erosion of American Rights by the Administrative Fiat Actions of the Government as represented by the TSA.  Among some of the people who’s Rights, as American Citizens, are being violated, are the rights of MUSLIMS.  According to the US Constitution we still have them (even though that didn’t help the Japanese Internees during WWII)

So I went to Google and typed in

tsa muslims

That was it.  Of the 3,800,000 hits I got, the first was as follows:

People can always find reasons to mistrust Muslims & Islam, even if they have to make them up

So I clicked onto it and found the following headline:

TSA… MUSLIM PUBLIC AFFAIRS COUNCIL TRAINS AIRPORT SCREENERS ON HOW TO HANDLE THE KORAN, HANDLE WOMEN, BE POLITICALLY CORRECT!!!!!

An article then went on to describe how the TSA was getting training from a “MUSLIM BROTHERHOOD FRONT GROUP”  that was a Wahabi Mosque in Southern California and cited:

The Center for Security Policy’s Team B II report entitled “Sharia: The Threat to America” which notes, “The founders of the Islamic Center for Southern California are Hassan Hathout and his brother Maher Hathout. The late Hassan Hathout was a senior member of the Muslim Brotherhood Movement.

Well, truthfully I had never even heard of Maher Hathout so I went and Googled HIM. And got over 11,000 hits on his name, most of them describing him as “A Man of God, A Man of Love” who worked tirelessly in trying to bring together people of All faiths in constructive dialogue.  I couldn’t quite understand how such a nice guy was being labeled a terrorist.   (It kind of sounded the way Democrats tried to portray Ronald Reagan).

The 4th Item down was from The Washington Report on Middle East Affairs which had an article from  May-June 2008 issue as follows:

Dr. Hassan Hathout: A Survivor of the 1948 Nakba and the Siege of Ramle

IN MAY 1948, as Jewish forces overran Palestinian villages on the Ramle-Latrun Road, casualties were brought to Dr. Hassan Hathout’s makeshift hospital in what had once been Ramle’s military airport.

As a new round of wounded arrived, Dr. Hathout was told seven of them were injured Haganah fighters, including a woman. Now, standing at the entrance of his hospital, he faced an angry mob demanding to take revenge on their captured enemies.

The young Egyptian physician was facing the biggest challenge of his life. Only months before, he had received his medical degree from Cairo University. He made the decision in December 1947 to launch his career by serving in the Red Crescent in neighboring Palestine.

Now he was standing on the steps of his hospital, shouting at a crowd hell-bent on murder. “You will kill these prisoners over my dead body,” he yelled. “I am a Muslim and an Arab. The Qur’an says the wounded are in protection for their wounds. The captives are in protection for their captivity.”

Once the mob reluctantly disbanded, Dr. Hathout spoke in English to his terrified prisoners. “You now are with us Arabs and Muslims. I will treat you the same as my Arab patient so long as you don’t try to escape. You will receive treatment according to the gravity of your wounds.”

His hospital had some 60 beds which meant that many patients were lying on the floor. The staff included two other doctors and about 15 male nurses. For 72 hours, Dr. Hathout conducted surgeries nonstop. The Jewish woman, Ruth Simon Levy, was operated on for an injury to her thigh muscles. A much more serious case was that of Naphtali Zeinfield, whose thorasic cage was filled with shrapnel.

When the Red Cross oversaw a prisoner exchange, the Jewish patients were transferred except for Naphtali, whose condition was too severe to consider moving.

http://www.wrmea.com/archives/May-June_2008/0805026.html

The Article goes on to describe how he made sure that Nephtali and ALL of the other Jewish patients he eventually ended up treating were safely returned to their people.  Now here we have a guy who was trying to follow Islam by doing his ISLAMIC DUTY of caring for the injured and NOT allowing them to be tortured or killed, and he ends up being branded a terrorist by Interneterland painters that have orders to turn the White Roses, Red.  (Does that make Sarah Palin the Red Queen?  Ok, I am really out of line there, but at least I acknowledge my base thoughts and respect her when she follows the Constitution.)

So first there is an attempt to portray the TSA with getting training from Terrorists and working against “Patriotic Americans” (The article even shows a Drudge Report Photo of a Nun being scanned by a Muslim TSA Screener!)  Then it cites a report that defames a man who clearly seems to have been one of the “Good Guys” in a lot of ways.

So then I went to the organization that created the report,

The CENTER FOR SECURITY POLICY

And I found their Mission Statement:
Mission of the
Center for Security Policy:

To identify challenges and opportunities likely to affect American security, broadly defined, and to act promptly and creatively to ensure that they are the subject of focused national examination and effective action.

I tell you what, I have ONLY one problem with their Mission Statement…it doesn’t address the fact that we need to stay WITHIN the boundaries of the U.S. Constitution. I don’t care if some people say that it handicaps us when we deal with others the way we want them to deal with us.  (Oh wait, isn’t that the BASIS of Judaism, Christianity AND Islam (YES, ISLAM!))

If we want the USA to remain the Greatest Country in the World, we need to do EXACTLY what the above statement suggests (of course with my qualifier).   BUT FIRST WE HAVE TO IDENTIFY OUR REAL ENEMIES!   And I got news for you, MOST of them are NOT Muslims.

People who go on the internet to visit “Wonderland” must realize that while there is a lot of good information out there, there is a lot of questionable stuff too.  A lot of it is Fantasy (like Shariah Law is being practiced in the US) and a lot of it is an attempt to create “enemies” in order to solicit funds to “fight” these evil-doers.(like the Center for Security Policy that wants you to “Donate now through Network for Good.”)

The United States is the best example of a Muslim Country in the World.  If you lined up the First 10 Amendments to the Constitution with what is written in Qur’an and Hadith (Muslim Holy Book and Examples) you would find that they line up beautifully.  Yes, I am trying to teach Americans about Islam, but I am also trying to teach Muslims about Islam.

I want to wake up from this Interneterland nightmare like Alice in Wonderland did.  I want the Red Queens card soldiers (The fake and Anti Islamic postings, blogs and websites of fear mongers) to turn into nothing more than falling leaves, that all Americans can gather together and dispose of properly.  And then as I realize that I am truly awake, I want to teach so-called Muslims who don’t seem to know their Religion, the difference between Culture and Islam, and the Fundamental Incompatibility between Islam and Terrorism.

About walkingtomecca

I am responsible for MY opinions and MY choices. If you think I am wrong, respond to my blog in an intelligent way and I might get back to you. Or viciously attack your stupidity. It is a toss up. I spend the little time that I have to write on this blog, but I would rather be looking at stamps, enjoying the world, but not wasting my time on people telling me how wrong I am. Thank you, I have children to do that to me.
This entry was posted in Adventures in Interneterland, Islam as Seen Through the Looking Glass of Computer Screens and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

