What Makes Me a Muslim: I have 8021 miles to teach you

If I put a Star of David around my neck and light the candles for Hanukah, does that make me a Jew?

If I put a Cross around my neck and go to Church (of whichever flavor) every Easter & Christmas, does that make me a Christian?

And if I put a Crescent & Star around my neck and go to the two Eid Celebrations every year, does that make me a Muslim?

NO!

So why to people on the Internet, and in the car next to me at the light automatically assume that just because I dress this way, I am

  1. Arab
  2. Terrorist
  3. Trying to force them to become Muslim.

I am Norwegian, Scottish, Sioux, & German.  (i.e. American) and only about 17% of the Worlds Muslims are of Semitic Descent. (So if you are anti-Arab, you are anti-Semitic! Hey, they BOTH came from Abraham, Don’t you read your Bible?)

I am also not a Terrorist.  It is against my Religion.

And finally, I don’t have to force anyone to become a Muslim…I just give them a choice between having to celebrate Christmas as practiced in the shopping malls and Islam, and everybody wants to know what they have to do to convert!  But sometimes my associates do ask me basic questions and I will answer them.

What makes me a Muslim is that

  • I believe that there is ONLY ONE Creator.
  • I believe that Muhammad was the Final Messenger
  • I believe that the Quran is the Final Message
  • I believe each of us is responsible for our own actions.
  • And I KNOW (from READING them) that there is NOTHING in the Qur.an or Hadith, the Bible or the Torah, that allows for the Murder of ANYBODY.

What makes you a person of faith, is not what you wear, what sacred site you worship at, or even what you pretend to believe, but that you really believe of the tenets of your “religion”, KNOW what they ARE, and then actually PRACTICE them!  Not just some of them, not use them as an excuse, and not force others to believe.  Islam very clearly states, “There is NO Compulsion in Religion.”

I, as a Muslim Female, have been fighting the Taliban for over 30 Years!  OUR U.S. Government, both Democrats AND Republicans, SUPPORTED Osama Bin Laden and Al-Qaeda.  Look around now and see the petty dictators and warlords we are now paying off and ask yourself if they are going to use that money to buy weapons to kill us with in another 20 years.

These people, like many in OUR government, want something.  For a few it is money, but for organizations like the Taliban, Al-Qaeda, the Iranian Mullahs and the Saudi Wahabis, it is about CONTROL.  They don’t want you to become Muslims, if you were Muslim and knew what your rights are, they would be out of power.

Islamophobes  and Islamofascists read the same cut & paste, heavily abridged version of the Quran.  In other words, They Don’t Read the QUR’AN!  It is like picking out only 2 of the ten commandments to kinda, maybe follow if you really feel like it and totally ignoring the rest.

I don’t want to waste my time listening to carefully selected verses taken out of context from the Torah, Bible or Qur’an that justify Evil in the name of G-D.  I still have 8021 miles to walk before I get to Mecca.  It is going to take me years, and I still need to teach myself to be a better Muslim.

About walkingtomecca

I am responsible for MY opinions and MY choices. If you think I am wrong, respond to my blog in an intelligent way and I might get back to you. Or viciously attack your stupidity. It is a toss up. I spend the little time that I have to write on this blog, but I would rather be looking at stamps, enjoying the world, but not wasting my time on people telling me how wrong I am. Thank you, I have children to do that to me.
This entry was posted in Islam and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

