BOKO HARAM is a SIN: Who is teaching them Islam?

On my journey of Walking to Mecca, I am lucky that I do not have to pass through Nigeria.  I have 8010 miles to go and a lot of thinking to do.  As I have been listening to reports of stupid things people do because of religion, I am constantly amazed at some of my so-called “Muslim” co-religionists.  At least when Franklin Graham (Billy Graham’s Little Boy) says something stupid, his followers don’t go around killing people.

Right now the news is about BOKO HARAM which translates as “Western (or non-Islamic) education is a Sin.”  So where did they get that brilliant piece of intellectual reasoning from?  Personally I think it must have been from a 9-year-old schoolboy who was playing too many video games and didn’t want to go to school anymore.  But I am wrong, it was actually a man by the name of Ustaz Mohammad Yusef.

Please Muslim and Non-Muslim Readers of my blog – consider the source!   The media is soooo ready to jump on sound bites and stupid quotes and then attribute these absurdities to “ISLAM” without finding out anything about what other things these people believe and if what they spout really IS a part of the Quran or Hadith!

Wikipedia did a nice little article on Ustaz Yusuf and refers  to a TV interview that took place shortly before he was killed by Nigerian Police.  In it he is quoted as saying that Boko Haram opposes not only Western education, but Western culture and modern science as well. In a 2009 BBC interview, Yusuf stated that the belief that the world is a sphere is contrary to Islam and should be rejected, along with Darwinism and the theory that rain comes from water evaporated by the sun.

So I guess that according to him, Stupidity is Not a Sin.  However, I have found that while ignorance and stupidity are not sins, they are often fatal.  (Don’t believe me? Check out the Darwin Awards.) Anyway, John Wayne had it right when he said “Life is tough.  It’s tougher when you’re stupid.”

The first word that was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) was “IQRA” which means “READ.”

I got the following from a website called Islamawareness.com:

The first and most crucial obligation on us is to acquire knowledge and secondly to practice and preach this knowledge. No man becomes truly a Muslim without knowing the meaning of Islam, because he becomes a Muslim not through birth but through knowledge. Unless we come to know the basic and necessary teachings of the Prophet Muhammad (S) how can we believe in him, have faith in him, act according to what he taught? It is impossible for us to be a Muslim, and at the same time live in a state of ignorance.

So it boils down to the fact that MUSLIMS are not doing their job in Teaching ISLAM to Muslims who then in ignorance go out and say and do stupid things.  We need to start a “Jihad” on Ignorance.  Lets start blowing up stupid ideas instead of people and planes (sorry new Coke! I wasn’t referring to you,)  When ignorant “Muslims” make provably wrong statements, correct them! And try to get those corrections out to as many media as possible.

And while it is too late for the late Ustaz Yusuf to learn, the “Western (non-Islamic) Education” that he considered a sin (BOKO HARAM) is based upon Discoveries made by Muslim Scientists that proved that the world was a sphere, that evolution is not incompatible with Islam (Is not God the best of Planners?) and that yes, Rain does come from water evaporated by the sun.

About walkingtomecca

I am responsible for MY opinions and MY choices. If you think I am wrong, respond to my blog in an intelligent way and I might get back to you. Or viciously attack your stupidity. It is a toss up. I spend the little time that I have to write on this blog, but I would rather be looking at stamps, enjoying the world, but not wasting my time on people telling me how wrong I am. Thank you, I have children to do that to me.
This entry was posted in education, Faith, Islam and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

