Targeting Innocent People: Congresswoman Giffords and Most Muslims

The opening line of the article makes my point: Has the country’s increasingly heated political rhetoric gotten dangerously out of control?

The article by Holly Bailey goes on to point out how targeting people can have negative consequences, far beyond mere words.  As pointed out in the following:

On CNN’s State of the Union, Richard Durbin, the No. 2 Democrat in the Senate, referred to the Palin map that listed Giffords as a target as a sign of “toxic rhetoric” that had gone too far” though he insisted he wasn’t making a “direct connection” between Palin and Saturday’s shootings.

“Don’t we have an obligation, those of us in public life and those who cover us to say, ‘This is beyond the bounds?'” Durbin told CNN. “We owe it to our own in both political parties to have at least the good sense and common decency when people say these outrageous things to say, ‘Wait a minute, that just goes too far,’ whether it comes from the right or from the left.”

I would like to point out that the above applies to people who use phony rhetoric and hate speech against Muslims.

I wondered how long it was going to take for there to be a slap at Muslims inserted into this horrific event.  Only a couple of hours went by before we learned that the girl that was MURDERED by the shooter was “Born on 9/11/2001.”  In a twisted way, the events of yesterday and 10 years ago are being brought together…as if Terrorist Suicide Bombers and psychotic Shooters must have a connection to Islam…

As I move along my path to Mecca (I am under 8000 miles, did you notice?) I am learning a bit here and a bit there.  I am trying to communicate the difference between Islam and the evil I see being done by “nice” people.  They are not “bad” in their own eyes.  Jerod Loughner probably thinks he didn’t do anything wrong.  He felt “Justified.”  And now there are a bunch of people dead or in hospitals because of him.

There are many Palestinians, Iraqis, Afghanis, etc. who strap on bombs and blow themselves up.  They probably felt “Justified” too.

Whether “they” do it because of politics or religion, because of drugs, mental issues, or in retaliation for real or perceived insults, NOTHING justifies going out and murdering people.

Protesting Hate Speech

About walkingtomecca

I am responsible for MY opinions and MY choices. If you think I am wrong, respond to my blog in an intelligent way and I might get back to you. Or viciously attack your stupidity. It is a toss up. I spend the little time that I have to write on this blog, but I would rather be looking at stamps, enjoying the world, but not wasting my time on people telling me how wrong I am. Thank you, I have children to do that to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

